Jawoyn country and tourism ventures have been recognised with four major gongs at this year’s Northern Territory tourism awards.

The Brolga awards recognise tourism excellence and last night’s ceremony in Darwin awarded 26 businesses and three individuals for their work in the sector.

Nitmiluk National Park won major tourist attraction for its stunning gorge, waterfalls and landscape and being a key economic driver at local and regional levels and for the collaborative management between Jawoyn and NT Parks, Wildlife and Heritage.

Nitmiluk Tours was recognised as the Territory’s premiere Aboriginal & Torres Strait Islander Tourism venture for its proven record of Indigenous employment and training and for the way Jawoyn culture is showcased through every aspect of its operations.

Cicada Lodge took home two Brolgas in the Luxury Accommodation and Tourism Restaurant and Catering Services categories for its elegant accommodation and five-star service and offerings featuring local and native ingredients.

The Association also congratulate ecotourism advocate Rick Murray for being awarded the highest honour, the Tourism Minister’s Perpetual Trophy, for his work in the industry.

Mr Murray has had a long association with Jawoyn people through his work in Nitmiluk and Kakadu National Parks.

He was also director of Nitmiluk Tours during his career supporting regional tourism and Indigenous enterprise development.

It was also moving to see the Brolga’s pay tribute to former Nitmiluk Tours general manager Tony Clementson.

Acting Minister for Tourism and Culture Nicole Manison congratulated all winners and nominees and said tourism is a key economic driver for the Territory.

“The Brolgas recognise all that is boundless possible about the Territory; our lifestyle, character, the spectacular natural beauty of one of the most incredible destinations on the planet and our diverse, multicultural community,” Ms Manison said.

“I congratulate all of tonight’s nominees and winners; it is fantastic to see your hard work, dedication and passion for the tourism industry rewarded.”

The business category winners will represent the Territory at the Australian Tourism Awards, with winners announced in March next year.

Brolga Awards 2018

Nitmiluk Tours manager Jane Runyu-Fordimail and Jawoyn chair of the board Lisa Mumbin celebrate awards with Nitmiluk staff and Katherine Mayor Fay Miller

Brolga Awards 2018

Four brolga awards lined up as Jawoyn country and enterprises are celebrated at this year’s NT tourism awards.

Categories: News